Штат Керала берет свое название в связи с огромным наличием  "Кера" или кокосовых пальм.


Взаимодействие штата Керала с внешним миром началось еще в 3000 г. до н.э.. Люди из далеких земель были привлечены запахом специй с берегов. Моряки из далеких земель, такие как арабы и китайцы первые установил торговые связи с Кералой. Посещения Кералы продолжались с приходом голландцев в 15 веке,затем следуют французы и англичане.


Расположенный в юго-западной оконечности Индии, штат Керала  окружен Западными Гатами на востоке и Аравийским морем на западе. Площадь 39 000 кв км, Керала имеет тропический климат с двумя сезонами дождей. Государство имеет 14 районов и имеет береговую линию 575 км и  41 реку.


Известный как "Собственная Страна Бога», Керала был выбран National Geographic Traveller в качестве одного из «50 пунктов назначения в жизни" и один из «Тринадцать рай" в мире.


Керала является одним из немногих государств в Индии, что имеет различные географические условия Высокогорье облачено в прохладный туман с земли,поляны травы и вечнозеленые леса. Среднегорья заняты плантациями каучука, орехами и перецем, а низменность имеет преобладание для выращивания риса и кокосов,а  прибрежная равнина усеяна рыбацкими деревушками.

Kerala

The State of Kerala takes its name due to the presence of abundant 'Kera' or coconut trees.


Kerala's interaction with outside world started way back in 3000 BC. People from far away lands got attracted to its spice-scented shores. Seafarers from far-off lands, like the Arabs and the Chinese were the first to establish trade links with Kerala. Visitors to Kerala still continued with the arrival of the Dutch in the 15th century followed by the French and the British.


Located in the Southwest tip of India, the State of Kerala is flanked by the Western Ghats to its east and the Arabian Sea to its west. With an area of 39,000 sq km, Kerala has a tropical climate with two rainy seasons. The state has 14 districts and has a coastline of 575 km and is endowed with 41 rivers.


Popularly known as 'God's Own Country', Kerala was selected by the National Geographic Traveller as one of the "50 destinations of a lifetime" and one of the "Thirteen Paradises" in the world.


Kerala is one of the few states in India to have a diverse geographical setting. The land features the cool, mist laden highlands with rolling grass lands and evergreen forests. The midlands are occupied by plantations of rubber, areca nut and pepper, while the lowlands has a predominance of paddy and coconut cultivation and the coastal plain dotted with fishing villages.